Remembering Aunt Sharon

Standard

My Great Aunt Sharon passed away this week.  She was like a grandma to me because my grandma (who was and still is my favorite person in the entire world) died when I was 13.  She looked like my Grandma Ruby, she laughed like my Grandma Ruby, she danced like my Grandma Ruby….

It was unexpected and I’m sad that I didn’t get to say goodbye.

What I know about my Auntie Sharon:
She had a great laugh and laughed A LOT.
She had a zest for life and a comical lightness of being…sorta like Betty White…kind of “don’t take it all so seriously” attitude.
She LOVED her children and grandchildren.
She thought I was special and that made me feel good.
She thought my son was very, very special and that made me feel really good.
She was an artist. 
She was up for pretty much anything.  If you asked her to do something she would say “yes”.
She had an agelessness about her spirit.  
She loved to gamble…and had a knack for winning (seriously had incredible luck and won often).
She loved a good martini…sometimes in the afternoon.
She gave great hugs. 

She wasn’t ever hiding from life–she enjoyed it.  Simple and complete.  A sweet reminder that acquiring things doesn’t make a life but enjoying and acquiring experiences with family and friends does. 

I will miss her very much.
~Darcie

About possibility

Susan and Darcie are the co-founders of soul LOVE fest. A yoga, meditation, wellness, growth and possibility fest taking place in the western suburbs of Chicago on 9/17/16 at Arranmore Farm & Polo Club. Buy tickets and learn more at www.soullovefest.com

One response »

Tell us what you think!